Everyday Reflections: Forgiveness-A Silver Linings Playbook

I would get this dream an aweful lot of times. The dream where there is thing in front of me- sometimes a purse, sometimes a pillow, sometimes a phone, blocking my view. No matter how much I tried to move it away so I could see whats beyond, I couldnt. It just just wouldnt move, because I wouldnt be able to exactly locate it. I mean its in front of me, but I just couldnt reach my hand to grab it and get it out of my way. Almost as if I was having neurological issues where my brain cant communicate the instruction to my hand to grab it. I struggled and it was frustrating- till I woke up. It was a very recurring dream and affected me a lot because I would wake up very angry and confused-it was so easy to grab the object yet everytime no matter how hard I tried I couldnt grab it to toss it out of my way so I could get a better look of whats beyond. I wanted to see whats beyond, because I could feel a vast open land was there on the other side and this was the only thing that was blocking my way. 

Several people including trained professionals interpreted the dream for me but none of then resonated with me. My heart didnt agree with what they said and I never go against my heart. But then one day I got to speak to someone who is a psychologist by profession, and she told me that the dream was because I had baggages that I needed to let go of. I needed to heal, I needed to just talk about everything that happened, accept they happened, come to terms with it…

…and forgive…

No one knows me better than I know myself. Everyone says it but I know it. I trauma bonded with myself when everyone else failed me. Deciding to do it alone meant I did the best that I knew how to, with whatever much I had. So basically I just plastered my heart with tapes and bandages, and lived on borrowed time hoping I would heal.Eventually those tapes became real and I forgot to heal. Better still, I didnt even know that healing is a process,forgiveness is a work in progress, not at all what we see in movies where you just declare it and everything goes back to normal. I got back and started climbing but not closing the chapter where I was hurt and needed to be healed from the scars.

Forgivevess was scary. It scared me to death because my self righteous ego kept me safe. I tried many different things to forgive- i did courses and therapies, tried to forget what happened (wrong approach), tried to reason with the wrong that was being done. But everything was falling short. Till I actually prayed for it. 

Yes, I prayed to want to forgive, because I didnt want to. I prayed to be able to forgive, because I wasnt able to. I prayed to look forward to forgive, because I wanted to run away from it. I prayed to heal, because that meant being exposed to the pain again and I would do anythint but that. I prayed for my heart to mend, because I remember that is one prayer I never made. I burnt in that fire of being wronged so I could make the most powerful of duas for the wrongs that I felt was done to me. I wanted fair price for what I went through.

When it happened in reality, when all those prayers started (they are still in process I hope they get answered soonish) being answered little bit, I rejoiced them. I felt that I was heard, that Allah knew I was wronged. But not for long. Eventually I realised I wasnt at peace. There was so much bitterness inside of me, so much resentment for all that happened, that I couldnt  see beyond my payback. I couldnt see that may be it gave me a sense of victory, but most certainly it didnt give me joy or happiness. Even though i prayed day and night for it, it almost felt like this is not what I prayed for- because what I “thought” I prayed for shouldnt look like this. It shoule give me relief. Till a point where I actually wished I could rephrase my prayers a different way. Instead of asking for things I didnt want, I should have asked for things I rather want. The bitterness of thinking of what happened and asking for all that to go away only added to the venom, to the brutality in my prayers, and because I am just a human, a sense of self righteousness or worthiness as well. As I kept getting signs of it happening, I eventually started to hate making those duas for things I did not want.

Because by that time, the other prayer I made for forgivess had started to be answered. I was healing. I was letting go. I was in the process of being able to accept what happened and move past it. I was able to forgive- everyone for everything. Yes I was starting to forgive, and that bitter pill of revenge was getting harder to swallow. Thats why I didnt want to think about it or ask for it to go away. I felt I was wasting my energy, there is so much more I want than what I dont want. Till I have reached a point now where I hardly pray for it go away. 

I still want it gone with just as much hatred as I did before, but I usually dont ask for it as much as before. Because now I pray more for things to come, not go away. Because Allah already knows in order for certain things to come, certain things need to go. Because white and black cant coexist, neither do light and darkness. And I choose to be the Light, because I willingly, voluntarily have submitted myself to the One who is the Light of the skies and the earth, The One besides whom there is no one to worship.

Don’t you want to know what happened to the dream? Yes you guessed it right. I dont get it anymore. Never got it since the day I prayed to Allah to mend me heart, allow me to accept what happened, let go and move forward. The psychologist was right, it was the baggage that kept coming in between me and that vast area of land where I could breathe. It still hurts like hell, but its not eating away my insides like a slow poison.

Its easy to let go when you dont care- either for what happened or the people who caused it. The real deal breaker is when you care about what happened, about the people who caused it, because no matter what you love them and despite everything want in your life.

I also feel there is a time for everything. Forgiveness becomes easier when you want to forgive. People say you forgive for yourself,perhaps they are right. But I forgave because I loved way too much to harbour the venom inside of me. Because no matter what, it will always be a truth that had happened, that had transpired,and the only way to overpower that would be to accept it. I did not embrace it nor will I ever do, but I accept it happened. So if you have anything or anyone you want to forgive, start off with asking Allah for truely wanting it. Think of why you want to want it, and then take it from there. Spouses,siblings, parents, friends, loved ones- dont keep resentment in heart IF IT IS POSSIBLE to let go. Afterall Allah wants us to forgive. 

Its a journey, and thus is a muscle building process. Starts and ends with prayer. Just like every other thing.

Leave a Reply

