My Tummy Hurts

This really crazy stomachache has been bothering me since yesterday lunch. I had something spicy and even though I followed that up with a bunch of anti acids and painkillers to subdue the pain, it was fruitless.

At 1 in the morning I woke up from this violent onset of pain. It was hurting too much. At this point I really did not feel like taking any more of those crap called painkillers. So I made dua.

Obviously, the devil being the nosy one as it is immediately woke up from its slumbre, and started ranting- “How will dua cure you pain, it wont be as effective like pain killer ” and so on…

Because I was really tired from the entire day’s pain and also sleep deprived, I paid absolutely zero heed to all those whispers. I scolded it saying that I asked Allah and He will remove the pain. Period. No further discussion. And then I went back to bed KNOWING (Yes! My certainty was too much at this point that I knew Allah would answer, alhamdulillah) that I am off for a good night’s sleep.

And indeed I had. And that too right away, immediately. I went to bed and passed out in less than 5 minutes. All praise is to the One who put me to sleep.

Certainty is the key. Often times we spend so much energy into analysing the quality of our prayers and our confidence in them, that we miss out on having the right attitude in the first place.

3 thoughts on “My Tummy Hurts”

  1. Indeed certainty is the key. And its something we need to exercise often to develop like a muscle. And to nurture it we need to celebrate every little occasion when we were able to hold on to certainty by giving thanks to Allah.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

