Rising Above The Traps Of Ordinary

When it comes to aiming big, wanting to achieve those seemingly impossible goals, most of us resort to the opposite. We are so scared of the “what ifs” that we can’t even look beyond that. We resort to thinking low, and aiming for only what seems achievable. What everyone around has achieved. We understand our limited capabilities, and unfortunately, proportionate our goals accordingly.

There is no judgement here. I have time and again been there. Even when I pushed myself to aim higher, the roadblocks of life always made me want to leave everything and give up. I realized it is safe to  lead the ordinary, customary life. Aim low, so even if you fail, it won’t hurt.

Such was the evening when I stumbled upon this verse.

If Allah is your helper none can overcome you, and if He withdraw His help from you, who is there who can help you after Him? In Allah let believers put their trust.-Quran(3:160)

I did’t even have to read it twice. For at the first read, it just hit me like a bolt, right there right then. To this day I believe it was not my own realization, rather Allah putting it directly on my heart. There are moments in life you encounter, a lot of them when reading the Quran (after all Quran is nothing but Allah talking to you), when you just know it is Allah. So this was one of those moments. Allah taught me that day giving up is not an option, as easy as it is, there is really no way around without getting the help of Allah.

What I learnt is that even for mundane things like breathing, Allah is carefully managing every coordination in our body to make sure that the rhythm is just right. Therefore, even to lead that life of ordinary,you and I will need Allah anyway.  So why not instead take His help for an extraordinary life? Because as far as Allah is concerned, His ability to help you is indifferent to your situation. He can help you lead either lives. Whichever life you want for yourself, as far as Allah is concerned, all He has to do is say “Be”, and it will happen. All you have to do it just put the effort and trust Him.

15965934_1184278824972822_1622984751125275634_n

Leave a Reply

